Summer

It has been summer for a few weeks now and I have been doing my best to enjoy it, but for some reason I have had some trouble finding inspiration to write.  I enjoy writing a lot, but sometimes when things are off in my world, my brain just doesn’t work well enough to create.

If I had to guess, moving to a new location has really put a damper on me.  I literally uprooted everything to move in with my parents again.  I am finding it extremely hard to live in New Jersey at a reasonable rate.  To add to the trouble of affordable living, being a full time student really cuts into potential hours for work, and with out work, I am left with no money.  It’s a shame, but it is what it is, and I am making the best of it.

Anyway, in an effort to lift my mood, I made a playlist of fun “summer songs.”  One of my favorite things in life is driving around, with no destination in mind, windows down, radio blasting at ear bleeding volumes, and singing along to some great tunes.  This list is perfect for this.  I have really it enjoyed so far.  So, needless to say it did lift my mood.

Considering today is my 2 week anniversary without a cigarette, lifting my spirit is quite the feat.  Although this process has worked really well with me being locked in my room, detoxifying my body of the 5 years of tar and nicotine and whatever other crap they put in cigarettes these days is a serious ordeal.  I am doing a lot of eating and drinking a lot of coffee.  I would say that I am not really craving cigarettes, even when I am drinking the beer.  I guess that means I was ready to quit.  I am happy to be done with cigarettes, but I hope I don’t get fat.  I’ll start working out one day.

The only cliche reaction to not having a cigarette I am noticing is a depressed mood, as I said before.  But it’s not too bad, I just need something to do to occupy my time.  I have a few weeks before school starts again so I wish I was working instead.  Some people say looking for a job is almost more exhausting than having a job.  I am beginning to agree.

So, maybe if you are having a blase day or you are in a poor mood this playlist will help you too.  Or, maybe you just want to drive around and listen to some good tunes.  Either way I hope you enjoy this playlist as much as I do.

CHEERS!

1. Pistol of Fire – Kings of Leon
2. Someday – The Strokes
3. Time to Pretend – MGMT
4. Wordless Chorus – My Morning Jacket
5. Golden Years – David Bowie
6. Dixie Chicken – Little Feat
7. Beetlebum – blur
8. There is a Mountain – Donovan
9. Bara O’Reiley – The Who
10. Master Hunter – Laura Marling
11. Keep the Car Running – Arcade Fire
12. I was Made for You – She & Him
13. Life in Eleven – Bela Fleck & The Flecktones
14. Twentieth Century Fox – The Doors
15. High and Dry – Radiohead
16. Fidelity – Regina Spektor
17. Ain’t too Proud to Beg – The Rolling Stones
18. Stuck in the Middle with You – Stealers Wheel

2 thoughts on “Summer

Leave a Reply

