Cross-Over

evo_of_music

I over heard a discussion the other day that sparked an idea to write this post.  I bartend on the weekends and often times listen to (and/or jump into conversations) customers at the bar.  I heard a couple fellows talking about music.  They were middle aged, normal guys, but some of things they were saying, were catching me off-guard.  For example:
“I just can’t listen to country music.”  Said man number one, let’s call him Moe.

“Why?” asked man number two, his name shall be Ron.  HAHA See what I did there?  Moe and Ron, MoeRon, MORON…..haha.

“I just think the crap they are calling Country Music these days is a bunch of poppy B.S.”  Moe said with a grimace. “I mean Taylor Swift, and Carrie Underwood being at the top of the charts really sucked the country out of the music, and now everyone is trying to jump into their sound.”

“Yeah, I know what you mean, but I think this whole pop — country cross over happened long before Taylor Swift and Carrie Underwood hit the scene.  I mean you have to think about how country used to be so easily called rock n roll back in the late 50’s.”  Ron nailed it.  I totally agreed, but still I stayed out of the conversation.  Anyway it went on for a few more minutes, then they turned their attention to the college basketball game on the TV.

So, I just had to write something about this, because I believe the cross-over moment is the single greatest thing about music.  When an artist or band or whatever breaks out of their shell to do something completely off the wall.  Even if it is a single song in a 5, 000, 000 song catalogue that moment when they shine a different color, or emit a different emotion proves the artist really enjoyed music as a whole.

Some artists do/did it all the time.  As Ron was saying, the 50s and 60s was the time music really started changing.  With Rock n Roll emerging, like a small child that grows into an adult, it went through phases and got bumps, bruises, scars, lost teeth, popped pimples, and shaved it’s face for the same time.  Still to this day, what is so casually called Rock n Roll has taken on so many sub genres that it’s not even possible to give a single genre to any given artist.

So, in honor of “Moe and Ron’s epiphany,” I have prepared a playlist of my favorite songs that blur the lines of genres and or show an artist crossing-over to a different genre for the love of music.  I hope you all enjoy it.  Cheers!!!

1. Say Please – Monsters of Folk
2. Your Cheatin’ Heart – Beck
3. Suburban Dream – The Stepkids
4. Cecilia – Simon & Garfunkel
5. Spain – Chick Corea
6. Parchman Farm – John Mayall
7. Take Me With You When You Go – Jack White
8. Life in Eleven – Bela Fleck & The Flecktones
9. Snake Hill – Conor Oberst & The Mystic Valley Band
10. Hats Off to (Roy) Harper – Led Zeppelin
11. Coconut Harry Nilsson
12. The Guns of Brixton – The Clash
13. White Winter Hymnal – Fleet Foxes
14. There is a Mountain – Donovan
15. Sweet Thing – Van Morrison
16. Suite: Judy Blue Eyes – Crosby, Stills & Nash
17. Just Like A Woman – Bob Dylan
18. Restless Sinner – Black Rebel Motorcycle Club
19. Side With the Seeds – Wilco
20. Blister in the Sun – Violent Femmes

Take care of your selves, and feel free to let me know your favorite songs.  I’m always on the search for new music.

Leave a Reply

