Folk Music.

If you haven’t guessed by now I am a big fan of music.  It delivers me to far off places with out actually taking me anywhere.  It reminds me of  good times and sometimes bad times.  Music breaks my fall if I lose my balance, and it picks me up once I’ve made contact with bottom.

I like all kinds of music for all kinds of reasons.  Mostly I enjoy music like a collector.  I seek interesting and innovative artists to fill my ears with ground breaking sessions and because it was the first of something.  For instance, I like Miles Davis because he changed jazz music by using previously unheard of scales and modes.  I like Van Morrison because his voice and songwriting is unlike anything else out there.  I like John Mayall for giving Eric Clapton a platform to shine and show off his un-mistakable talent.  I like Bob Dylan because he basically wrote every song—Ever, and so on, and so forth.

Now the fact that I am a musician my self may play in to my passion for good music, but I think it is deeper than that. I wasn’t always a musician, but as far back as I can remember I have always enjoyed music.  Wether it was riding around my dad’s truck from job site to job site while he blasted Bruce Springsteen or cruising with my mom singing along to “Another Brick in the Wall” music has always been there.  My grandpa used to sit in his bench swing in the vast garden of a backyard and sing little ditties about having no food and very little money but always loving you.  Music has fantastic powers that breaches any barrier to bring people together.

I remember going to The Dave Matthews Band concerts in my late teen years.  If you looked around at the sea of people gathered for the event you would see goths, hippies, punks, preps, families, and friends of all shapes, colors, and sizes dancing and singing along to Dave and his band.  That really says something about music.  It doesn’t matter who you worship to or when you go to bed, if you like music, chances are someone else is singing the same words somewhere else.

I guess the moral of this post is to bring some kind of awareness to the fact that if everyone just chilled out and jammed out to some music together maybe there wouldn’t be so much war.  I know it’s not likely but it was fun to type.  Just believe in music’s potential and power.  Face your demons head on with a mandolin playing minstrel and speak in poetic language and everyone will love you.  HAHA

Before I go I’m going to give you a playlist I listened to today.  Hope you enjoy.

1. Something- The Beatles
2. You Are- Punch Brothers
3. Don’t Leave Me (Ne Me Quitte Pas)- Regina Spektor
4. Goodbye- Chet Baker
5. Mexicali Blues- Grateful Dead
6. False Advertising- Bright Eyes
7. Winter in My Heart- The Avett Brothers
8. Going Mobile- The Who
9.Nothin’- Robert Plant & Alison Krauss
10.Wordless Chorus- My Morning Jacket
11. Free Radicals- The Flaming Lips
12. Short Circuit- Daft Punk
13. The Plains/Bitter Dancer- The Fleet Foxes
14. Giving Me a Chance- Gotye
15. Rebellion (Lies)- Arcade Fire
16. Timekeeper- Grace Potter & The Nocturnals
17. Mojo Pin- Jeff Buckley

Post Script
When I make these playlists, I work very hard at the organization.  If you do take the time to listen to these songs I post, make sure you do it in sequence, it makes the experience really neat.
CHEERS!!!

One thought on “Folk Music.

Leave a Reply

